The Heron's Nest

Awards by Year

Contests & Awards — 2021

The Peggy Willis Lyles Haiku Awards for 2021

Peggy Willis Lyles Haiku Awards for 2021

Maximum number of haiku allowed: five (5) haiku in English

Judging criteria: Selection will be blind to authorship and the sole criterion will be excellence.

Judge: to be identified with the winners

Entry fee: none

Eligibility: all haiku poets other than the staff of The Heron's Nest and the contest judge


NOTE: monetary awards to non-US winners will be made through PayPal, where possible, in order to avoid the high cost of bank processing fees.

Deadline for entries: June 1, 2021

How to enter: By email to John Stevenson at (put "Peggy Willis Lyles Haiku Award" in the subject line; provide haiku in the body of the email only-attachments will not be opened. Include your name and your location as you would like to see each listed.) The submitted poems must not have been published; not accepted for publication; not under consideration by anyone other than us until we announce the contest results.

Announcement of results: July 31, 2021 on our web site.