The Heron's Nest

Awards by Year

Contests & Awards — 2019

Indian summer
a turtle on a turtle
on a rock

Peggy Willis Lyles
Heron's Nest Award winner for Volume III, #10, December 2001

Isaac Newton reputedly claimed, "If I have seen further it is only by standing on the shoulders of giants." By any measure, Peggy Willis Lyles was a giant presence in the world of English-language haiku during the last quarter of the twentieth century and the first decade of this century. Those who came to know and admire Peggy's published work were enriched by the encounter. The scores of fortunate poets-from newcomers to veterans-who corresponded with Peggy at her "turtlerock" email address during her eight years as an editor with The Heron's Nest were even more profoundly rewarded through their firsthand experience of her incisive intellect and her generous spirit. So I am proud to announce this fourth annual offering of The Peggy Willis Lyles Haiku Award, a special annual competition to celebrate Peggy's life and to perpetuate her haiku legacy as both a master poet and an inspiring mentor.

This competition honoring our beloved colleague will be underwritten in its entirety by the editorial staff of The Heron's Nest and a Friends of Peggy Willis Lyles Fund—there will be no fee to enter. The top three prizes will include cash awards and a volume of Peggy's haiku. The First Place finisher will also receive the memento of a miniature crystal turtle, representative of Peggy's haiku "totem."

We are all very excited about this tribute to a truly wonderful person and one of the finest haiku poets of our time. Haiku poets worldwide are invited and encouraged to enter their best work; only the current staff of The Heron's Nest and the contest judge (to be announced with the contest winners) are ineligible. Full details of this year's competition appear in the fact sheet below.

John Stevenson, Managing Editor, The Heron's Nest

The Peggy Willis Lyles Haiku Awards for 2019 - Competition Details